Don’t Stop Till You Drop

Akikan Soda Pop Green Melon Don't Drink ThatDrop it like it’s hot.

Konnichiwa, Mikuites! As I mentioned in an earlier post, when I watch a new anime series, I preview it before committing myself to watching the whole thing. I almost always watch 2 eps before I decide to drop it or not…no more, no less. Although, I’ve heard people tend to watch 3 eps, for whatever reason.

I came up with 2, because when I first started watching anime that’s what I used to think was equivalent to an hour, but I learned that by skipping the OP and ED it’s only about 40 min. Still, I stick to 2 eps, because if I watch 3, that’s already 1/4 of the series –– assuming that it’s a 12-ep series, which it typically is –– so I feel that I might as well finish it.

IF I continue to watch after 2 eps, 99% of the time I’ll complete the whole series (that’s a fact). It’s very rare for me to drop a series after watching more than 2 eps, no matter how BAD it is.

How many episodes do you watch before deciding to drop an anime?

About MkMiku

Just a neko expressing what's on my mind. Nya~
This entry was posted in Editorial and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Don’t Stop Till You Drop

  1. baka~ says:

    I’d usually measure an anime’s worth by episode 1. If the anime has no interesting content even at episode 1 then I harshly dump it down unless someone makes me reconsider. Just like in Bakuman, “A manga [anime] just needs to be interesting” If the first chapter didn’t catch your attention then there’s no point to read the serialization… it’s just me though =/

    • MkMiku says:

      Hmm, while your theory sounds logical, I can’t say that I agree. While it is important for an anime to capture the viewer’s attention, it must also hold onto that attention as well. A good beginning has no significance if the middle and end are not good as well. I know what you mean, but that’s why I usually wait a few episodes until a drop — to see if/when the ball gets rolling.

  2. alex says:

    I can drop a show in the middle or even before the last episode. Mostly I drop it after the 1st ep., sometimes I give it a chance with the 2nd ep.

    • MkMiku says:

      Eh, and I thought I was harsh. ^^; 1st eps are usually introductory, so I’ve been sticking to my conventional two eps for the last 7 years, because then you get a better idea of the action/story. Even though I recently dropped Yumekui Merry after 5 eps, if I’m more than halfway though a series I’ll just force my way through it no matter how bad it is. I’ve never dropped an anime past the halfway point.

      • alex says:

        when I don’t see a point to continue watching then I just stop watching it no matter how many episodes I watched of it

  3. Riyoga says:

    I always give a show three episodes to prove itself. The reason is because sometimes shows need an episode or two to actually set up the setting or characters before getting into the meat of the plot.

    For example, both Lotte no Omocha!’s and Dog Days’ first episodes weren’t really incredible. Their only purpose was to introduce the setting and main characters. Those first episodes also seemed to have a pretty negative reaction among bloggers, with most of them dropping the shows, despite the fact the next episodes were much better since they didn’t have to worry about setting anything up.

    Sometimes big shows take two episodes to set everything up, too, which is why I wait for three episodes.

    • MkMiku says:

      I agree with your first paragraph, only I watch two episodes instead of three. The reason for this is that a lot of anime I watch are only 12 episodes, so I soon realized that by the time I decide to drop I’m already 1/4 of the way through! :D

  4. I never drop a series. I just put a series…. “temporarily on hold” so I can revisit it when I’m in the mood. :P

    Seriously, I’ve never dropped any series yet so far except for the mainstream or long anime series (One Piece, Naruto, etc.). My eye and instincts have yet to fail me in choosing the great gems of the season. That, and also I agree with Riyoga’s comment.

    • MkMiku says:

      You must have a keen eye, then! xD A bit off-topic, but I’ve had some series on hold for years. I don’t plan to drop them, though — they are just really long, so it’ll take me a while to get through them. .-.

  5. Nopy says:

    I watch one. I think I’ve seen enough anime in my time that I can tell what’s generic and what’s original.

    • MkMiku says:

      But that’s just the thing, some anime are surprising! You can’t judge an anime by its first episode, as I say (*cough* Madoka Magica *cough*). Though, some anime are surprisingly bad (Kampfer) — the first episode was nothing like the rest of the series. v.v;

  6. ebolanyc says:

    Sometimes, I skim through the first two episodes to decided if it’s my type of anime or not. Sometimes I’ll watch the first 2 or 3 episodes. Sometimes I know I’ll just hate an anime and don’t even have to watch any of it, nya. It’s always different.

    • MkMiku says:

      You skim through episodes? Like, you just skip through it? I guess I do that too, but only if I can’t decide after the first two eps do I look at the latter episodes.

  7. vzmk2 says:

    For the most part, I tend to give a show two eps before dropping. Some I dropped only after one ep (Dog Days), others I gave half way until dropping (Princess Lover)

  8. Nadja says:

    I cannot drop anything. As soon as I watch the first episode, I always feel an obligation to finish it. Even if it’s crap, I always feel a need to see every single minute.

    However, I do have quite a lot of series on-hold. In some cases, I haven’t watched an anime for over a year simply because I’ve been watching other stuff, and I’ve been too lazy to go back and finish it. I don’t consider it to be dropped, though, because I plan to watch it one day…

    • MkMiku says:

      :D This made me laugh because I feel the exact same way. I’ve had a lot of series on hold for well over a year (mostly long anime, which is why I never got around to finishing them). Too busy keeping up with the new stuff.

      Even though I used to drop a ton of series in my early years as an anime fan, as I mentioned in my 7 Years of Anime post, it’s becoming harder for me to drop a series (unless it’s extremely bad), because I want to enjoy every experience.

  9. Valence says:

    I see everything through to the end. No exceptions. The only thing that matters is when I do so : within a week, or within a year.

    • MkMiku says:

      XD That’s a good mindset. I’ve kinda become the same way. I don’t want to drop something because I feel like I would regret it later. Many series I have on hold, but I almost make it my goal to see them the whole way through.

Leave a Reply

