An Anti-Social Genius and the Idea of Anime Crossovers [Guest Post]

MWAHAAHAAA!!!

Hello Mind of Miku readers…my name is Justin, the founder/a writer at Organization Anti-Social Geniuses, and I’ve come to hijack this website! Truly someone who aspires world domination should try and take over whatever they can get their hands on!

*hears a number of people laughing*

…Ok, ok, I was kidding (NOT). Anyways, today I want to talk about something that came to me while I was trying to figure out what to write about here–Anime and the idea of crossovers.

*mouth drools*

If there’s one thing that everyone can agree upon is that series crossovers are generally a good thing. And just about everyone…either tends to imagine scenarios in their head, write fanfics, or draw then post it on DeviantArt. Of course, crossovers happen in a lot of video games, so I need not mention anything there, but after looking around the web, it is really difficult to find anime crossover series. Manga crossover series have been slightly common (like Cross Epoch by Akira Toriyama and Eichiro Oda, My Sweet Sunday by Mitsuru Adachi and Rumiko Takahashi as examples), though that’s probably because the manga’s under one company (for example: Shueisha)and they exist within the mangaka’s world–but there’s not a lot of anime crossovers, and if you take out OVAs, movies, and brief cameo appearances, the field is devoid of TV anime series.

I think a lot of people get excited when they learn one series is crossing over with another. I hear Yu-Gi-Oh: Bonds Beyond Time is bad. Yet I want to see it. Why? Because I watched Yu-Gi-Oh and Yu-Gi-Oh GX and want to see how Yugi and Jaden coexist together onscreen, along with the other characters from all three series. I want to watch Lupin III vs Detective Conan–actually seeing the famed thief battle with the high school now elementary school prodigy is something that excites me. With crossovers, series that you know match or you wouldn’t think would match should instantly become a must watch, even if the company that’s doing it is only in it for the money (Yes Shueisha, I’m looking at you, you jerks!)

Now reasons for why there aren’t anime crossovers are understandable: most animes are bought by different animation companies; they will undoubtedly be canon to their original series; and then, what kind of story is it? Will the characters from different series coexist? One potential reason why crossovers are not made into ongoing episodes is because more likely than not, an original plot has to be made in order to compensate for the characters–after all, somebody has to get screen time, and with main character’s stepping in from their respective series, how is it going to work out?

Anyways, I’ve searched for a number of series that are currently crossovers, whether they are a collaboration with other anime series or just movies or OVAs. If you know of any series that I missed, please let me know and I’ll attempt to add them to the list below.

Otherwise, do you think it would be good to see more crossover attempts between anime?

List of Anime Crossovers:

Tsubasa Reservoir Chronicles

Shattered Angels (or Kyoshirou to Towa no Sora)

Lupin the 3rd vs Detective Conan

One Piece X Toriko

Yu-Gi-Oh: Bonds Beyond Time

Pretty Cure All Stars DX series

Giant Robo (OVA)

Mazinger Z vs Devilman

And with that, I sign off…(FOR NOW! MWWAHHAAA!!!)

About Justin

Justin is the founder of Organization Anti-Social Geniuses. Anime & manga fan that likes to blog about anime and manga. A man very much addicted to Fire Emblem, and still weak to crossovers. Is a somewhat big Brooklyn Nets, New York Yankees, and New York Giants fan. Football dominates his life though. You can follow Justin on Twitter.
This entry was posted in 2011, Anime, Anime Series and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to An Anti-Social Genius and the Idea of Anime Crossovers [Guest Post]

  1. TRazor says:

    Shoop da whoop, guest posts!

    Hmmm, a very interesting post, this one. Kudos to Justin for getting me thinking.

    To be perfectly honest, I didn’t know anime crossovers even existed. I thought vide games were the only ones who did that kind of stuff. But come to think of it, why isn’t the anime industry doing more crossovers?

    Well, the best I got is that because the directors and the studios vary.

    • Justin says:

      Well that’s probably a factor as to why there isn’t. But this post is just me starting the fire (mainly because I couldn’t find one article that talked about the anime industry doing more crossovers)–only time will tell whether I did it properly :D

  2. baka~ says:

    I’d like to see a crossover between Nanoha and Madoka but I digress. I think that, while crossovers are ideally a welcome fantasy made for fans, in the end, they won’t do it without profit. The crossovers listed above have been made from the same franchise thus, this probably came from the same think tanks and financiers that conceived the show. On another hand, let’s take Tekken vs Streetfighter; A collaboration between two different companies. There must’ve been plenty of money involved just to make this dream match-up come true and I doubt that animation companies will get the idea of expanding the boundaries of their series and collaborate with others.

    • Justin says:

      I doubt it too, but it could just be one animation company that does it–for example, the One Piece X Toriko collaboration is headed by Toei Animation. As long as you own the rights to a series and it’s from the same company, it should be fair game. But I agree, it might cost a lot of money. Wish I knew the specifics…

      Well Capcom has been known to do collaborations (See: Namco X Capcom/ Legend of Zelda game boy games and Minish Cap), so they probably have a system worked out. But the video game industry makes a ton of money…that’s most likely the reason why there’s so many in video games.

  3. MkMiku says:

    Interesting post, Justin! I would absolutely love to see more crossovers in anime, but the problem probably arises with legal issues. Still, if anyone has played any fighting games like Tatsunoko vs. Capcom, you know that game pairs anime characters like Casshern against staple Capcom fighters, so I don’t know why anime studios can’t do the same.

    I wouldn’t mind seeing the characters from Clannad and Kanon from KyoAni getting mixed together. The only slight crossover I know of is Magical Kyouko from To Love-Ru, but this is because the mangaka also did Black Cat. ^_^

    • Justin says:

      I own Tatsunoko Vs Capcom. That game is fun :D

      I think if one animation company holds the rights to two series in the same magazine, then they should be able to do an anime crossover. It could be up to the creators and the company then to decide if they want to do it. It would definitely be epic if two animation studios collaborated on a series!

      • Ryo_kun says:

        Speaking of fighting games, Marvel Super Heroes vs Capcom is very nice too. xD

        While I do like to see crossovers, I think the graphic compatibility of two different series/games is very important. I do like One Piece, but i didn’t like One Piece x Toriko at all because I think Toriko’s graphic is awful. Somehow, I just think that they don’t quite fit together. I don’t know maybe that’s just me. =)

        • Justin says:

          True, it does matter if it meshes or not. Just think of Mortal Kombat and DC. How’d that work out?

          I didn’t mind One Piece X Toriko actually, even though I don’t watch One piece that much and I couldn’t stand reading Toriko…

  4. Pingback: Anti-Social Geniuses Reference Resource Mondays « Organization Anti Social Geniuses

  5. Yi says:

    Personally, I don’t really like anime cross overs unless they are from the same universe (i.e. F/SN with Kara no Kyoukai). Just slapping two anime together doesn’t quite do it for me, especially if the animation style and the worlds need to be changed to be consistent. I think the ones listed and have been released so far, however, adhere to this rule, so I don’t really have too much to complain. I don’t get too excited about any of them though…

    • Justin says:

      *sniff* so when you see those manga crossovers and those video game crossovers or stuff like Super Smash Bros Brawl you don’t get a twinkle in your eye :D

  6. Pingback: The End of the Road | Mind of Miku

  7. Nopy says:

    I see crossovers more as a comedic tool rather than a way of creating a new story. With that said, I’d rather that they be limited to OVAs and short films.

    • Justin says:

      Hmm. I think only a certain few series can last long as eps. But ok then–OVAs and films I don’t mind much! Let’s somehow just have more of it.

    • lcmoran says:

      Personally I like the way Clamp handles their cross overs in Tsubasa, because It is a completely different story that is compelling and interesting to new and old readers. Meaning, that someone who hasn’t read any of CLAMP’s other work can still read Tsubasa, enjoy it and read it like any other manga. It’s true you would enjoy it more if you were familiar with their other work, but that’s not to say you wouldn’t enjoy the manga without the prior knowledge of CLAMP’s other work.
      The thing I believe really bogs down many crossovers is that they are too dependent on the gag or aww-factor of a crossover and do not bother to add enough to the plot-line to make it compelling on its own. Other times it is too reference heavy to understand and follow for people who are not familiar with the series involved in the crossover.

  8. Pingback: The Geniuses Survive: Celebrating Our One Year Anniversary « Organization Anti-Social Geniuses

  9. Pingback: » The Geniuses Survive: Celebrating Our One Year Anniversary

Leave a Reply

