Spice and Wolf [Anime Review]

Spice and Wolf Review Screenshot Sexy WhiskersDamn, you’s a sexy bitch.

Or “Spicy Wolf” as I like to call it, since she is naked basically the entire first episode. I initially watched this anime 3 years ago, back when I was still running the anime club. I’ve heard many good things about this series, so I decided to pick it up again.

As a forewarning, there is not much action in this anime, but you can obviously see that just from watching the serene OP. Speaking of which, the OP theme –– “Tabi no Tochuu” by Kiyoura Natsumi –– is simply, for lack of a better word, beautiful. I couldn’t help myself from humming it whenever I was in my car.

Also, you gotta love the “Engrish” ED. Whistle ’round the world… ^_^

As you would expect from an anime about 25-year-old Kraft Lawrence, a traveling merchant, there is lots of dialogue and economics. Luckily, you don’t have to be an accountant to enjoy this anime –– anyone who has a basic knowledge of (fictional) currency and exchange rates will have no problem understanding the various scenarios.

I really liked Lawrence. He is a smooth talker and doesn’t freak out (much) when he sees Holo naked, unlike some other teenage boys from other anime who are like, “OMG, a female body! What is this? My teenage mind can’t comprehend!” Lawrence’s objective is to make as much money as possible. And who wouldn’t want that?

Holo, Lawrence’s partner, is not only a wolf, but a goddess…no, literally. She helps Lawrence along his merchant travels. Apparently, not only do gods have perfect bodies, but they are very good at making trade deals and witty, too! A wise wolf, indeed…

Soon, romance starts to develop, as is the case with any anime featuring a man and a woman. About the only other female besides Holo that is there to care about is a cute shepherd named Nora, but she doesn’t appear until Episode 8 of this short 13-episode anime. If there was only one disappointment I had with this anime, it was that it ended pretty quickly, but I guess that’s why we have a Season 2.

About MkMiku

Just a neko expressing what's on my mind. Nya~
This entry was posted in Anime Review, Anime Series and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Spice and Wolf [Anime Review]

  1. Ebola says:

    The economic lessons were the best part of this anime>> ^___^ cept for fuckable horo

  2. atvrcr says:

    Now it’s time to read the novels >:D

  3. atvrcr says:

    Haha same here, I bought them because I loved the anime so much xD

  4. ayu says:

    hmm..i dont really like this type of anime but i might give it a try :)

    btw..happy Valentine’s day! :D

  5. ayu says:

    thanks for the review

  6. Yi says:

    I should watch this sometime. I saw some Horo stretching videos a while back, and she was so cute in it. Plus, the economics lessons actually seem like they could be interesting.

  7. MkMiku says:

    @Ayu & @Yi Hmm, and I thought I was the only one who hadn’t seen it yet. XD

  8. Hogart says:

    This was a nice change of pace from the usual anime. Horo and Lawrence are very well characterized, and the situations they get into are harsh, yet somewhat believable – very rare for anime set in the distant past and involving goddesses.

    They also feel rather like real people just living their lives while striving for happiness, and the bond that develops between them feels really genuine and honest. Not many anime can boast those qualities, but then most anime gun for a very different demographic that seems to prefer wish-fulfillment.

    • MkMiku says:

      S&W felt like it was off in it’s own world, hardly your stereotypical anime, which is why I liked it. And how often do we see a relationship between a wolf and merchant?

  9. Pingback: I Looked at the World through Apple Eyes | Mind of Miku

Leave a Reply

